Appalachian Trail in mist

This section of the Appalachian Trail is between Buzzard Hill and Raven Rock, near Route 7 in Virginia.

Editor's note: On March 24, the Appalachian Trail Conservancy advised all hikers to postpone their hikes on the Appalachian Trail to avoid potentially spreading COVID-19. After multiple sections of the Trail experienced large crowds the prior weekend, it is no longer a viable space to safely practice social distancing. For information, visit appalachiantrail.org.

A job related to regional Chesapeake Bay planning attracted me to Maryland from New England more than 50 years ago. I worked as a planner at a regional agency, analyzing water and land use issues related to the Chesapeake Bay and its shoreline in the Baltimore region.

When I first came to this region, I had worked on an analysis that found that water quality in the tidal areas of the Baltimore region were in rapid decline. On the land side, the study noted a lack of public open space compared with other bays around the country, as well as some poorly planned shoreline developments.

This connection between water and land became more apparent to me soon after arriving in Maryland, when I visited my brother in upstate New York. On that trip, driving along the Susquehanna River in Pennsylvania and New York, I began to appreciate the sheer size of the Chesapeake Bay watershed. The river, on average, accounts for nearly half of the water in the upper Chesapeake Bay and is quite spectacular in its length, breadth and beauty.

Driving along this important tributary, I realized that the health of the Chesapeake Bay is directly related to good farming practices, forest conservation and the quality of treated effluent from wastewater treatment plants.