W. Tayloe Murphy Jr. is the 2006 winner of the Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay Frances H. Flanigan Environmental Leadership Award.

Murphy was Virginia’s secretary of natural resources from 2002-2005 and chaired the Chesapeake Bay Program’s Principals’ Staff Committee during part of his tenure.

Murphy also served in the Virginia House of Delegates from 1982 to 2000. During his time in the General Assembly, he was chairman of the Chesapeake Bay Commission. He was also chairman of the Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission during its two-year review of the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality.

Throughout his tenure in the General Assembly, Delegate Murphy was noted for his commitment to environmental conservation and stewardship and protection of Virginia’s natural resources. He was an instrumental leader behind the General Assembly’s passage of both the Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act and the Virginia Water Quality Improvement Act.

Murphy will receive the award during the Alliance’s Taste of the Chesapeake 6–10 p.m. Oct. 14 at the Loews Hotel in Annapolis.

Spirit of the Sojourn Award

Bruce and Betty Bishoff of Mechanicsburg, PA, have been awarded 2006’s Spirit of the Sojourn Award, which is given each year during the Alliance’s Susquehanna Sojourn to recognize exemplary dedication to the stewardship of the Susquehanna River and passionate commitment to fostering a conservation ethic in others.

Groups that have benefitted from the Bishoffs’ volunteer efforts include the Susquehanna River Trail Association, Audubon, Wildwood Nature Center, Canoe Club of Greater Harrisburg, and Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay.