The Chesapeake Bay Trust recently announced the winners of the Ellen Fraites Wagner Award, the Honorable Arthur Dorman Scholarship and the Teacher of the Year award.

Ellyn Vail is the recipient of the Ellen Fraites Wagner Award, which recognizes a Marylander who has demonstrated a special commitment to educating and involving citizens in Chesapeake Bay protection and restoration activities. Vail has been instrumental in founding and developing the Sassafras River Association on the Eastern Shore. In just a few short years, it has grown from an idea shared by a few local residents to a thriving 400-member organization with a board, executive director and Riverkeeper. In her role as a board member, Vail has been instrumental in building the citizen base of the organization and creating partnerships throughout Cecil and Kent counties.

Mac Sloan of Fort Hill High School in Cumberland, MD, was named 2009 Teacher of the Year. Sloan teaches about the Bay and the broader watershed through science classes and other parts of the curriculum; uses school grounds and local natural areas to enrich classroom experiences; and motivates and inspires students by promoting environmental awareness throughout the school and the broader community. He also serves as the president of the George's Creek Watershed Association and has volunteered more than 500 hours over the past six years to various local environmental groups.

Kliffi Blackstone, a senior at Digital Harbor High School in Baltimore, has been awarded the Honorable Arthur Dorman Scholarship of $5,000, which recognizes a high school senior or college-age minority student for his or her commitment to helping the environment and promoting diversity and tolerance for individuals of all backgrounds. Blackstone is studying in the Networks and Computer Systems pathway, and is near the top of her graduating class with a 3.5 grade point average. She was recently honored at the 21st Annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Awards Dinner.